Program notes

The toponym Santiago de Compostela is derived from the ancient Roman “campus stellae” (field of the star). The city’s most distinctive elements are the Cathedral and the ‘Camino’ of Santiago which leads to the city through various routes starting in various locations. This is the idea behind this work by Andrés Álvarez, “Capus Stellae”, starry field. This piece was first performed in 2010 at the Pazo da Cultura in Pontevedra by the bands participating in the second section of the Provincial Certification Exam. Campus Stellae which was commissioned for the exam, tells the story of the pilgrim’s long journey, the achievement of the Santiagan who finally arrives to the city’s majestic cathedral. The composer uses four sections in this work. The sins, a heavy burden exemplified by the two first sounds which are dragged until their redemption. The meditation, before the long journey to this redemption, constitutes the second section. The elongated sounds illustrate that mediation before the third section: the journey. The pilgrims know that the way is long and fraught with difficulties. The geography of Galicia is peculiar, with its beautiful imagery full of narrow footpaths which are often hard to follow. The quickly ascending and descending rhythms mimic the profile of the Galician mountains. The piece ends with the fourth section in which the glorious sound of the cathedral bells reveal the end of the Camino of Santiago. The achievement of the Santiagans and the redemption of the sins of all of the pilgrims that have managed to finish the Camino are reflected in this symphonic poem for wind band which was dedicated to the year of the Xacobeo, 2010.

Campus Stellae

  • Year: 2010
  • Duration: 13
  • Grade:
  • Demo:
  • Shop:
  • Banda de concierto
Back to top